So Shut Up (spoken word piece as performed at Camp Trans)

August 19, 2008

Hi CT folks and Femme Con folks! This is the long piece I performed at Camp Trans; I thought y’all might want to read it. Trans Fat and the other (as yet untitled) one I’ll put up soon, so check back.

So Shut Up

“You have male privilege.
You dominate conversations.
You profited economically from your time as a man.
So shut up.

“Nobody talks about trans men.
If you’re talking about trans women specifically, its because you’re sexist.
We’re the invisible ones.
So shut up.

“You’re fixated on hormones and surgery.
You reinscribe Patriarchial gender norms.
You’re obsessed with passing and being a 50’s housewife.
You did this to fit in and be gender conforming.
You’re just trying to fit in because transgressing gender norms is too hard
So shut up.

“You just get off on having a vagina.
So shut up.

“You’re all straight, white, suburban, and middle aged.
So shut up.

But you have to understand! Privilege is invisible to people who have it. I understand how you might feel that way, but just like those of us who are white should admit our white privilege, you need to admit your male privilege, so that’s not relevant and
so shut up.

“At the slightest threat, the commanding baritone returns.
So shut up.

“If you were really womyn you wouldn’t demand to go where you’re not wanted.
So shut up.

You may be hurt and upset that certain women’s events don’t let us in, but as transfeminists, we need to focus on the real problem, on the Patriarchy, because they’re the only ones that have power.
So shut up.

“How like men, to invent words to impose on other people.
But cissexual is too obscure, and ‘bio’ is one of the only words we have left!
So shut up.

“If you don’t like it you should start your own shelters.
So shut up.

“You have a psychological need to have had a trans male abuser.
So shut up.

“Autogynephilic transsexuals’ anger over Bailey’s book is an example of narcissistic rage.
So shut up.

“I hope I won’t get flamed for this,
so shut up.

.I know when you’re coming out it feels like they should be supporting you, but they don’t have a support group or a therapist, they don’t have all the resources you have, so really coming out is about you supporting them.
So shut up.

“I know there weren’t any other trans women or genderqueers in the room, but more than a third of the panel of three was you talking!
I’m not transphobic! I have a trans boyfriend!
So shut up.

“And many trans women retain these masculine traits after transition, often to their advantage.
So shut up.

“You were trained to be self confident and assertive as a child
So shut up.

“You take up too much space.
So shut up.

“What could you possibly know about feminism?
So shut up.

“Clearly, you plagarized Robin Morgan.
So shut up.

“The more I read on this list, the more I’m convinced that transwomen are delusional.
So shut up.

“Autogynephilic transsexuals say they were feminine as children, but they’re lying.
So shut up.

“Any ‘male transsexual’ who says otherwise is either delusional or lying.
So shut up.

“…I guess you’re the best of both worlds! …What? Chill ur nuts tranny ur twice as confuseds as i am hoe its called a mass message so don’t fell special cuz ur not infact ur will go to hell all the same GFYS ur dumb so u will spell it out for you Go Fuck Ur Self… that’s funny irony you could fuck yourself lol
So shut up.

You don’t understand! We’re reclaiming ‘tranny’.
So shut up.

“What did I do for the intersex community? I wrote this book, didn’t I?
So shut up.

“Well, it’s better to have something problematic than nothing at all
So shut up.

“It’s just a dance party, you can’t control these kinds of things.
So shut up.

“I really appreciate them creating this space, so I don’t want them to get the bad rap.
So shut up.

I totally respect you, I have nothing against trans people, trust me. I’m a gay woman, I know what you’re going through. I was just really frustrated because you were doing it wrong.

So shut up.

“You haven’t done enough to educate congress.
So shut up.

“We shouldn’t have to wait for our protections. It’s not like you’ve been in this community except in the last five years, or like you gave your lives to our cause anyway.
So shut up.

“Oh come on. Trans people weren’t really at Stonewall.
So shut up.

[At the Trans Day of Remembrance] “But there’s violence against all of us, not just trans people. I don’t want to divide the community since we’re all one community.
So shut up.

“But there’s violence against trans men too!
So shut up.

“The reason there’s less violence against trans men is because we pass better.
So shut up.

“In many ways, black trans women have the reverse experience. They no longer get profiled by the police for driving while black, become less vulnerable to violence, and are more accepted as leaders after transition.
So shut up.

“But she worked so hard!!!
So shut up.

“It’s not about respect, it’s about reality. Can I just decide I’m a horse?
So shut up.”

No.

9 Responses to “So Shut Up (spoken word piece as performed at Camp Trans)”

  1. Allison said

    I like it.

    Are the italics significant?

  2. Cedar said

    The italics indicate condescension when they’re a sentence or more of something.

  3. Allison said

    Ah. I was trying to make them be direct quotes and the other paraphrases, or something like that, but it wasn’t working out. This makes much more sense.

  4. Cedar said

    Aww, thanks!

  5. polerin said

    Oh, I wish I could have heard this performed.

  6. […] point ‘black men have it worse than black women’. See also my performance piece, So Shut Up. Posted by Cedar Filed in Racism, internalized transphobia, racist violence, trans […]

  7. Cedar said

    A couple new verses:

    (inserted at
    …“It’s just a dance party, you can’t control these kinds of things. [snip]
    “I really appreciate them creating this space, so I don’t want them to get the bad rap.
    So shut up.)

    “Gay men?! Are you sure?
    So shut up.

    “They put up a notice on their myspace! Aren’t they great?
    So shut up.

Leave a Reply

